A trip to the emergency room, or things that scare my Mummy

Oh, oh. I scared Mummy last night. Even though Dr. Metten gave me cough suppressants for my kennel cough, they seemed to stop working last night. I started coughing and hacking and wheezing at about 6:30 p.m. and I couldn’t stop. I kept trying to fall asleep but couldn’t. I’d fall asleep for 10 minutes and then wake up. It was not fun. This went on for HOURS. Finally at midnight Mummy called the emergency vet who said to keep an eye on me and to come in if she was worried.

Well, I tried to sleep, I really did, but I just COULDN’T. I was coughing and coughing and coughing and my eyes were all streaked from trying to sleep so Mummy took me to the emergency vet at about 2 a.m. (which is really 3 a.m. apparently because we switched to daylight savings at 2 a.m.).

We spent THREE HOURS at the emergency vet and I still kept coughing. The vet said she was worried I might have pneumonia and she took me for x-rays. Luckily, no pneumonia, but I do have bronchitis and the x-ray showed my throat was all red from coughing and retching so much. They gave me a shot for my tummy to help with my nausea and retching and sent me home with some of the same in pill form, along with some yummy liquid medicine to coat my throat.

I was SOOO tired that I couldn’t get up from the vet floor or get out of the car when we got home. Luckily Mummy carried me and we got home at around 7 a.m. Then both Mummy and I crashed and slept on and off all day.

I am feeling SO much better now and am not coughing all day and night any more. I’m still coughing but not as badly. Mummy is very relieved. But she doesn’t let me play as much as I want to. She says I have to relax. I say phooey to that. I had the zoomies late this afternoon.

Anyway, Mummy was scared but I’m doing a lot better now, but it was a long night. I’m going to sleep now.

About Kelly

Fiction writer, journalist, editor, Golden Retriever owner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A trip to the emergency room, or things that scare my Mummy

  1. Khyra says:

    I wonder if that is what my mom has –

    She won’t stop khoughing either –

    I hope woo feel better soon!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  2. Sam says:

    We hope you feel better soon. Midnight vet trips are never fun!

    Sam

  3. The OP Pack says:

    We are very glad your Mom took you to the vet, even if it was the middle of the night. The meds should make you feel better now. Get some rest, pretty girl.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  4. Amy Ashman says:

    Your sister Maggie, Mama Katie, and Uncle Tucker all send you well wishes, and want you to never, ever, ever scare your mummy like that again. No more! Get well, Baby Bronte! We love you! We’re having lots of fun walks in the nice sunshine, lots of ball-chasing, and Maggie has been learning to dig as well. She’s also a wonderful shoe retriever. She finds it most annoying that people store shoes in closets, so she spends a great deal of time moving them to more appropriate places in the house. XOXO

  5. bronte13 says:

    Thank you. I miss you all and love you too! I’m doing much better, which makes mummy VERY happy. Maggie and I have similar instincts. I’m not a big fan of shoes, but I’ve discovered ice cubes – they’re the best! But they keep disappearing, so then I bark! But now I sound like Marlene Dietrich – all deep and husky. I got BIG hugs and wishes from the zoom room where I go to class. I miss class and mummy is trying to keep me quiet – it’s tough. Big love to you all and I hope mama Katie is feeling good these days and Uncle Tucker has finally caught himself a rabbit. Maggie, Mummy is sure that when I dream and whimper some nights I’m dreaming of you and all the running around we did together!

  6. Hi Bronte,

    I hope you are much better now, and back to running around making your mum smile lots. Did she get any video of you and your funny voice? At the time she would have been very worried, but weeks afterwards (when you are all recovered and she is not worrying) hearing your voice like that is funny even though I know it isn’t funny at the time as I had kennel sneeze. My vet said it wasn’t a full cough (I just sounded like I was a cat constantly trying to get a fur ball out) after going to the kennels when I’d my vaccination against KC – so I had to have pills like you did.

    Woofs,
    Riley

Leave a Reply

